NZ boxing champs to hit Porirua tonight

Jerome Pampellone faces three competitors in the Light Heavyweight division. Supplied photo.

Ten bouts will kick-off the 2020 Boxing New Zealand National Championships today.

The national event is being staged at the Te Rauparaha Arena in Porirua.

Five Cadet (13/14 years of age) bouts will open proceedings, followed by three Junior (15/16 years) bouts, before a Youth Male (17/18 years) contest between Tyson Peterson (Central North Island) and Te Atetangi Paris (Canterbury).

The evening action will be rounded out by a Round of 16 contest, between Ali Ismatullah (Wellington/Hutt Valley) and Dan William-Morris (Canterbury) in the Welterweight division with the winner to move forward to the quarter-finals.

The out of season National Championships have drawn strong support with close to 120 entries spread through the Cadets, Junior, Youth and Elite divisions.

The Elite male entries top the list with 40 competitors, chasing the eight titles on the line.

A recently completed tally of the 2020 BNZ boxer registrations, shows that 672 boxers, completed the BNZ registration process during the year.

This is a new decade record, with close to 20 per cent of the registered boxers taking part in the Porirua City National Championships.

The winner of the Ted Morgan Cup awarded to the Welterweight champion, could face as many as four fights, with 10entries in the 69kg division.

Defending titleholder Dominic Roe and fellow Auckland representative Wendall Stanley, are expected to continue their battles in the ring, in which Roe holds a current advantage.

The pair fought out the 2019 National title with Roe earning a paper-thin 3-2 split decision.

For the first time since 2017, the bantamweight title will be decided with three contenders throwing their hats in to the ring of competition.

First contested in 1903, the eight stone six pound limit title attracted some of the biggest entries of each championships.

As the average kiwi boxer has increased in weight and size over the decades, the bantamweight class attracted few entries.

Reigning Jameson Belt (Most scientific senior boxer trophy) holder, Jerome Pampellone, faces three competitors in the Light Heavyweight division.

During 2019, the Isaac Peach trained boxer achieved high world ranking in finishing in the top eight at the AIBA World Championships.

While David Nyika holds the only entry for the Heavyweight title, the Olympics-bound boxer must go over the scales at the championships to have his name engraved on the Dewar Shield.

Defending Middleweight champion Ryan Scaife will be aiming for his fifth successive championship crown.

However, he faces seven other contenders and is likely to fight three times to win another Middleweight crown.

Three defending Women's champions will be in action in the Te Rauparaha Arena ring.

Sixty kilogram champion Michelle Nuku faces a big challenge from Commonwealth Games Bronze Medalist Troy Garton to retain her title.

Current 64kg titleholder Cara Whareau and 69kg champion Ariane Nicholson looked headed straight for Finals Night with just one other entry in their weight classes.

The delayed BNZ National Championships will provide a new treat for amateur boxing fans throughout the country, with the finals action being live streamed on viewed on Sky Sport and Sky Sport extra live streaming.

Boxing New Zealand 2020 National Championships 20-23 January 2021

@ Te Rauparaha Arena, Porirua

20 January Preliminary bouts

21 January Preliminary bouts

22 January Senior Semi-Finals

23 January Senior Finals Night