Seven National Champions re-inked their credentials at the North Island Golden Gloves

File photo.

Seven 2020 National Champions re-inked their credentials at the North Island Golden Gloves held in Taupo over Queens Birthday weekend.

The South Island Golden Gloves was condensed into a one day tournament, with three elite men’s finals, being carried over to be fought out in Timaru on Saturday.

Three elite female boxers added Golden Gloves honours to their 2020 National Titles (held January 2021).

Tasmyn Benny defeated 2018 National titleholder Holly McMath in a close fought contest, with a 3-2 split decision.

A rematch of the 57kg National final, resulted in National champion Erin Walsh again defeating Jen Peters, with the Golden Gloves result being a near 5 nil victory.

Cara Wharerau proved too strong for Jessica David, taking home the Golden Gloves crown, after receiving a 5 nil points decision.

Five time National Middleweight champion Ryan Scaife was given a good workout by former National champion Leroy Hindley on his return to the ring.

Scaife had to dig deep to take out a 3-2 split decision, with four of the judges separating the two fighters by a solitary point.

Another spilt decision saw Light-Welter National champion Michael Reynolds drop down a division to get the judges nod against Watene Robertson, who had travelled over the ditch from South Australia to throw his hat into the ring in Taupo.

Other current national titleholders to add Golden Gloves honours to their national crowns were Bantamweight Albraine Alfante and Super Heavyweight Matt Mataika.

Elite Female National 57kg champion Christine Gillespie, led the highlights at the South Island Golden Gloves held at the Woolston Club in Christchurch.

Gillespie defeated Beulah Paris getting all three judges approval.

The Super Heavyweight final was ended in round two, when the referee stopped the bout in favour of Lisate Lomu who met Leroy Mutu in the title decider.

The three postponed championship finals on June 19 will see Christian Tiako verses Jahvan Tuhahakaraina who beat Jacob Prout in the light welterweight semi-final; Jesse Hawken won through the Middleweight semi-final and will square off with Josef Jacobs; Awatea Henry emerged triumph from his preliminary bout and will go head to head with Sakhidad Ghazizada.​​​​​​​ 

North Island Golden Gloves Elite Senior Finals Results – 5/6 June 2021

Elite Female 51kg: Tasmyn Benny defeated Holly McMath - 3-2

Elite Female 57kg: Erin Walsh defeated Jen Peters – 5-0

Elite Female 69kg: Cara Wharerau defeated Jessica David – 5-0

Bantamweight 56kg: Albraine Alfante defeated Jayden Machura – 4-1

Lightweight 60kg: Michael Reynolds defeated Watene Robertson – 3-2

Light Welterweight 64kg: Cayden Hope defeated Ali Ismatullah – 4-1

Welterweight: 69kg: Wendell Stanley defeated Chad Milnes – 4-1

Middleweight 75kg: Ryan Scaife defeated Leroy Hindley – 3-2

Light Heavyweight 81kg: Onyx Lye defeated Nathan Birch 4-0

Heavyweight 91kg: Eddie Couimi defeated Jayden Ball – 5-0

Super Heavyweight: Matt Mataika defeated Siaki Tu – 5-0​​​​​​​ 


South Island Golden Gloves Elite Senior Results – 5 June 2021


91+ S/Heavyweight: Listae Lomu (Burnham) defeated Leroy Mutu (Fidows) RSC R2

Elite Female 60kg: Christine Gillespie (Arapawa) defeated Beulah Paris (Woolston) 3-0​​​​​​​ 

Finals Draw @ Timaru 19 June 2021

64kg Light Welterweight: Christian Tiako v Jahvan Tuhahakaraina (Gore)

75kg Middleweight: Josef Jacobs (Round 12) v Jesse Hawken (Southern Queens)

81kg Light Heavyweight: Sakhidad Ghazizada (Papanui) v Awatea Henry (NZFF)​​​​​​​ 

Semi-Finals Results

64kg Light Welterweight: Jahvan Tuhahakaraina defeated Jacob Prout (Woolston) 3-0

75kg Middleweight: Jesse Hawken defeated James Stokes (Woolston)

81kg Light Heavyweight: Awatea Henry defeated Wiremu James (Timaru) 2-1